This Tender Land



This Tender Land For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace 1932, Minnesota the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated It is also home to an orphan named Odie O Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent s wrath Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own.Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en thralling, big hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole. Best Download [ This Tender Land ] by [ William Kent Krueger ] – heartforum.co.uk

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the This Tender Land book, this is one of the most wanted William Kent Krueger author readers around the world.

Ô American Books This Tender Land  Kindle Author William Kent Krueger – heartforum.co.uk
  • Hardcover
  • 450 pages
  • This Tender Land
  • William Kent Krueger
  • English
  • 15 November 2017
  • 1476749299

10 thoughts on “This Tender Land

  1. Angela M says:

    The best historical fiction doesn t just take me to the time and place depicted in the story It takes me into the heart and soul of people who lived there and then This is precisely what William Kent Kruger has done in this beautifully written story of four orphans on their journey to find safety, home, and love while discovering themselves along the way He does this with characters who are everything to this telling of history, whose stories tell of the ...

  2. Dorie - Traveling Sister :) says:

    NOW AVAILABLE After reading this book I think there should be a separate genre for incredibly well written books that will endure the test of time, this is truly a masterpiece It is literary fiction, adventure, mystery, a lesson in morality and forgiveness, and so muchTo understand this book you really MUST READ it, and I seldom say that about a book It is every bit as good as Ordinary Grace by this author.The time frame for the book is during the Great Depression, it s 1932 and NOW AVAILABLE After reading this book I think there should be a separate genre for incredibly well written books that will endure the test of time, this is truly a masterpiece It is literary fiction, adventure, mystery, a lesson in morality and forgiveness, and so muchTo understand this book you really MUST READ it, and I seldom say that about a book It is every bit as good as Ordinary Grace by t...

  3. Diane S ☔ says:

    When one reads a book that is almost 500 pages, and upon completion is not ready for the book to end, in fact could continue on for another 500 pages, then you know a book deserves 5 stars At least for me Four children, three horribly mistreated at the Lincoln school for Indians, make a life changing journey Although only one boy is a Native American, all are orphans All have no choice but to be on the run All will change in big and small ways during this journey Although this may sound li When one reads a book t...

  4. Liz says:

    I d give this onethan five stars if I could I am a huge fan of Willian Kent Krueger and absolutely loved Ordinary Grace I wasn t sure anything could top it Well, hard to say if this is better, but it s equally as good WKK is just such an amazing writer He s got it all, well turned phrases, engaging plot, characters that draw you in immediately and feel so real you re convinced you ve met them Home is where the heart is And Odie, Albert, Moses and Emmy are all looking for their own I d give this onethan five stars if I could I am a huge fan of Willian Kent Krueger and absolutely loved Ordinary Grace I wasn t sure anything could top it Well, hard to say if this is better, but it s equally as good WKK is just such an amazing writer He s got it all, well turned phrases, engaging plot, characters that draw you in immediately and feel so real you re convinced you ve met them Home is where the heart is And Odie, Albert, Moses and Emmy are all looking for their own versions...

  5. Debra says:

    I ve poured the best of myself into this story and I invite you to experience all of its remarkable twists and turns As Odie says in the very beginning Open yourself to every possibility, for there is nothing your heart can imagine that is not so Blessings, William Kent Krueger True to his word, William Kent Krueger did pour his heart and soul into this book His writing is both moving and beautiful I found myself highlighting large sections of text He has the heart of a poet If you haI ve poured the best of myself into this story and I invite you to experience all of its remarkable twists and turns As Odie says in the very beginning Open yourself to every possibility, for there is nothi...

  6. Elyse Walters says:

    NO SPOILERS This Tender Land , is a mesmerizing tale with wonderful characters, rich themes, extraordinary storytelling, delicious writing.with dialogue that sprinkles gold nuggets in our hearts, gut, and mind A couple of times I thought Stand By Me meets Deliverance.meets Huckleberry Finn It has those type of a feelings I m pleased as a pickle to say this novel is every bit as good as Ordinary Grace another book by Krueger that s one of my favorites..starting wi NO SPOILERS This Tender Land , is a mesmeri...

  7. Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* says:

    5 AMAZING STARS The story takes place in the 1930 s during the Great Depression in Minnesota Odie and Albert are two white orphaned teenage brothers who live at the Lincoln school It s a school for Native American Indian children who are forcibly separated from their parents and sent there to be educated Four and Albert are forced to live there as well, with the Indians They were the only two white orphans in the school Mrs Brickman who was known as The Black Witch was the school superinten 5 AMAZING STARS The story takes place in the 1930 s during the Great Depression in Minnesota Odie and Albert are two white orphaned teenage brothers who live at the Lincoln school It s a school for Native American Indian children who are forcibly separated from their parents and sent there to be edu...

  8. Tammy says:

    A quintessential Midwestern American fable, This Tender Land is a coming of age novel and a tale of an epic journey in the form of homage to The Odyssey and Huckleberry Finn During The Great Depression, four orphans runaway from an abusive Indian school by canoeing the rivers of Minnesota in order to reach St Louis and the protection of an Aunt As the river turns, they meet a variety of people along the way struggling to survive the profound effects of the catastrophic economic downturn Some A quintessential Midwestern American fable, This Tender Land is a coming of age novel and a tale of an epic journey in the form of homage to The Odyssey and Huckleberry Finn During The Great Depression, four orphans runaway from an abusive Indian school by canoeing the rivers of Minnesota in order to reach St Louis and the protection of an Aunt As the river turns, they meet a variety of people along the way struggling to survive the profound effects of the catastrophic economic downturn Some of these people are as they appear to be while others are not Through his experiences the narrator and storyteller, Odie, tries to come to terms with God At times, he believes in the wrathful, vengeful God of the Old Testament and at oth...

  9. Christine says:

    5 glorious starsI have been waiting for a long time to say this about a book, and now I can This novel is a masterpiece It is William Kent Krueger at his very best it is clear he threw his entire heart and soul into this book I will buy a hardback copy something I never do and keep it forever.Set during The Great Depression in 1932 in my home state of Minnesota we follow our protagonist, 12 year old Odie, and his three fellow travelers self dubbed The Four Vagabonds on their searc 5 glorious starsI have been waiting for a long time to say this about a book, and now I can This novel is a masterpiece It is William Kent Krueger at his very best it is clear he threw his entire heart and soul into this book I will buy a hardback copy something I never do and keep it forever.Set during The Great Depression in 1932 in my home state of Minnesota we follow our protagonist, 12 year old Odie, and his three fellow travelers self dubbed The Four Vagabonds on their search for belonging and home The story is...

  10. Carol says:

    SO DAMN GOODOf all that we re asked to give others in this life, the most difficult to offer may be forgivenessIt all begins in HELL and some of what s told here is true. What happened in the summer of 1932 is most important to those who experienced it, and there are not many of us left Odie O Banion s life actually began in Missouri Ozark country, but now orphaned in Minnesota, he and older brother Albert need a miracle to get out of Lincoln School, the only white boys in a school f SO DAMN GOODOf all that we re asked to give others in this life, the most difficult to offer may be forgivenessIt all begins in HELL and some of what s told here is true. What happened in the summer of 1932 is most important to those who experienced it, and there are not many of us left Odie O Banion s life actually began in Missouri Ozark country, but now orphaned in Minnesota, he and older brother Albert need a miracle to get out of Lincoln School, the only white boys in a school for In...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *